Document of the Committee foundation.


Virtual Commettee meeting hosted by UNESCO, May 6, 2020 2018 and 2019 meetings by conference call
WRD Committee meeting at UNESCO, October 6, 2017 WRD Committee meeting at UNESCO, September 26, 2016

WRD Committee meeting at UNESCO, October 15, 2015 WRD Committee meeting at UNESCO, September 29, 2014

WRD Committee meetting at Radio France, February 14, 2014 Tribute to UNESCO and ITU at the World Radio Day celebration in Madrid, February 13, 2013
First Committee meeting in Madrid, September 11, 2012
Video clip

The WRD Committee

In March of 2012, shortly after UNESCO's proclamation of World Radio Day, the Spanish Radio Academy created the World Radio Day Committee, which held its first official meeting on September 11th in Madrid at the International Press Center. One year later, the Committee hosted another meeting in Madrid with the participation of UNESCO's General Director of Communication, Janis Karklins. In 2014, the Committee along with sixteen organizations met in Paris at Radio France Headquarters

Know more...


ABU- Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union


AER- Association of European Radios


AIBD- Asia Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development.


AMARC- World Association of Community Radio Broadcasters


ASBU- Arab States Broadcasting Union


AUB/UAR- The African Union of Broadcasting


BNNRC- Bangladesh NGOs Network for Radio and Communication


COPEAM- Permanent Conference of the Mediaterranean Audiovisual Operators


EBU/UER- European Broadcasting Union


IAB- International Association of Broadcasting


IBU- Islamic Broadcasting Union


ITU-International Telecommunication Union


UNESCO- United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization


URTI- International Radio and Television Union


RAPAF- Network of Public Broadcasters in Francophone Africa


Spanish Radio Academy



CBU- Caribbean Broadcasting Union